Repeat after me….

Sunrise from Haleakala on Maui: inspiring to say the least!
Sunrise from Haleakala on Maui: inspiring to say the least!

Mantra, affirmation, motto, vision statement.

Whatever you call it, it’s something that reminds you of the bigger picture, the ultimate goal, a truth that you dedicate yourself to.  I think we all know in our hearts what we aspire to, or what we believe to be true. But when you write it down, it takes a little extra conviction to choose the right words.  Maybe that’s because other people can see it once you write it down.

A few years ago, my life motto was “Live like it’s art.” I wanted to recognize the beauty I encountered each day and seek to create beauty myself.

The top poster is a photo I took from the summit of Mt. Haleakala on Maui at sunrise. I added an inspirational thought to the sky and printed it to hang in my cubicle at work.  My cubicle, while rather sterile, is where I try to make progress on projects and do my best to unravel complicated challenges.  When I see this in the morning, even just seeing the image in the corner of my eye, it reminds me that each day’s decisions have a lot of power.

mission statement
bamboo fence in Kyoto, Japan showing the way forward

I’m a co-author of this bottom poster’s affirmation. This one is a bit more developed in the concepts it covers, on both sides of the equation– you and the world. There are inherent talents and gifts within you, and there is an abundance out in the world. Where those intersect is based on your own decision and your own effort. Keeping this in mind is important if you are to make the most of your days.

What are your favorite mottos, affirmations, or mantras?

Leave a Reply

