Fika Book List 2016

As 2015 wraps up, I’d like to plan a list of books to read next year.  I have an account on Goodreads and have completed my reading challenges for the past 3 years.  Here’s my preliminary list, taken from my wishlist on Amazon of kindle books I’ve been interested in reading and my to-read list on Goodreads:

  1. Go Set a Watchman
  2. In Other Words
  3. How to Be a Productivity Ninja
  4. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
  5. Sea of Poppies
  6. Last Man in Tower
  7. The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
  8. Cutting for Stone
  9. Extra Virginity: The Sublime and Scandalous World of Olive Oil
  10. Shantaram
  11. The Great Influenza: The Story of the Deadliest Pandemic in History
  12. Positivity Attracts

This would give me a book a month, which has been my goal for the past few years.  I used to have a much more ambitious goal of 20-25 books, but I think one a month is realistic for me again in 2016.  I like mixing it up between fiction and non-fiction (incl. self-help). Which books have you always wanted to read?  What new releases are a must-read? Are you also planning on reading any of the titles I list?

I’m also thinking about reading a daily inspirational book, and got a recommendation from a book club called Paper and Glam for a book called Savor, which includes short essays for each day of the year.  I like the idea of having a short essay (I think they’re only a page long) to read each day, perhaps to start the day with.

After completing my goal of 12 books this year, I’ve also read Dreams from my Father by Barack Obama, which is pretty hefty at over 400 pages, and Work Simply, about catering your work flow to your own productivity style.  I’ve been borrowing e-books from the public library onto my kindle and kindle app on my phone, and since I only get each book for 20 days or so, that’s a good way to ensure I work diligently at reading and don’t slack!  Plus, it’s free!  Spending $10 per book on Amazon isn’t a bad thing if it’s a great book, but if I can get it for free, that’s even better.  ^_^

One thought on “Fika Book List 2016”

Leave a Reply

