Reading Update Q3 2016

My reading goal for 2016 was to read a book each month.  This was fine, a reasonable decision for a busy professional such as myself, and totally doable… until I started reading and listening to Shantaram in April.  This book is a hefty 946 pages.

20160326_093909.jpg
Our reading nook 

I read books mostly by borrowing them from the public library as e-books or audiobooks, so sometimes I have to wait until they are available if others are ahead of me in line.  So that is part of the reason why it took me so long to finish it, another reason is that it’s poorly written and very slow to get into.  But I recently finished it! So to date, I’ve finished 7 books this year, with two currently in the works as well.  See below for the books I’ve completed, and the others still on my list to read this year:

Go Set a Watchman  DONE!

In Other Words DONE!

How to Be a Productivity Ninja

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle  DONE!

Sea of Poppies

Last Man in Tower

The Swerve: How the World Became Modern  DONE!

Cutting for Stone

Extra Virginity: The Sublime and Scandalous World of Olive Oil

Shantaram  DONE!

The Great Influenza: The Story of the Deadliest Pandemic in History

Positivity Attracts

The Winter of our Disconnect  DONE!

Food: A Love Story DONE!

Hagakure  In progress

Savor  In progress

I found Hagakure after watching the movie Ghost Dog with my boyfriend, and really appreciate the book’s link between behavior and values.  It’s also a quick read, at less than 200 pages.  I’d like to read a few shorter books to catch up with my goal.  5 more books before the end of the year is an ambitious goal, given that it’s almost November!

I’m also still reading the daily devotional book Savor.  I was good during the first few months of the year to read and write briefly about the essay every morning, but haven’t done it regularly since then.  Every once in a while I read the day’s essay and think about it, but I think it would be nice to get back into that habit to reflect a bit more every day and keep things in perspective.

What are you reading this year?  Do you have a reading goal on Goodreads?  If you’ve read any of the books I list above, what did you think about them?

Leave a Reply

